The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 71 of 71

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by TruthHertz
    And seriously affordable, bless them. Love that place.
    David
    I'd bet their dropout rate is near zero. They're probably having a laugh about what Harvard is doing. With Harvard having ties to Berklee there might be a trickle down effect with the consolidation of theory and history. In the grand scheme of things, so what?
    Instead of taking two theory and two history courses students will have the opportunity to take 2 other courses.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by JohnoL
    I believe Mr. Theory, Walter Piston is associated with Harvard.
    Yes. Harmony by Walter Piston barely touches 20th Century Harmony ...I tried to use it when younger as a self taught Guitarist..
    Not good for Modulation and 20th Century Harmony IMO.
    I am on this Forum to fill in Gaps in Theory and Applied Theory.

Many[ most ] Theory Books and Wickipedia include the Contributions of Jazz as part of Modern Harmony Theory

User Info Menu

Hmmmm. My feelings on this are complicated. TBH I give a lot of respect to the classical music tradition and I think colleges are the natural environment of this music (although the nature of the conservatory has changed somewhat since the 18th century.)

Idk really.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by snailspace
    Probably planning to convert the music theory classrooms into "safe spaces" for students who can't handle opinions contrary to their own.

Oh, Harvard -- how the mighty have fallen. Once, not long ago, you used to be a real university.
    Given your deep thoughts and insightful commentary, Harvard would like to know where you went to school.

User Info Menu

Many great points above, such as:

1. Harvard has a music school? Who knew?