The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 65

User Info Menu

I am a Jazz Guitarist. I am interested in starting a study group (or just a group) of Jazz Guitarists that would like to improve their vocal skills. I am not planning on becoming a "singer" like Frank Sinatra but more like a guitarist that sings like John Pizzarelli.

Currently I gig mainly in instrumental settings but I would like to add 6 to 10 vocal tunes to my current set lists.

I an envisioning a group that posts performances of Jazz standards, constructive criticism, suggestions for songs etc.

Your thoughts and suggestions are welcomed.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

What if I want to sing like Jimmy Smith or Keith Jarrett is that cool.

User Info Menu

Kurt Rosenwinkel sings all his lines, but good luck with those. Slam Stewart or Major Holly? Ah, gotta brush up on my Bach so I can bring Glen Gould to the table.

David

User Info Menu

Ari Roland sings his wonderful baselines too.

User Info Menu

Sorry, count me out. A man has to know his limitations, and singing is beyond my limits. At least singing well enough for anyone other than myself to listen to. And I have a hard time listening to myself, TBH.

User Info Menu

He doesn't have the big tone or depth of a singer like Frank, but I'm not sure you are giving John enough credit. That cat can sing - and he is really good at it!

User Info Menu

I sing better than I play. (So says I! ) but this could be good as a group

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by artdecade
    He doesn't have the big tone or depth of a singer like Frank, but I'm not sure you are giving John enough credit. That cat can sing - and he is really good at it!