The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 402

User Info Menu

[This OP has changed in light of much interest from several members. The direction is now toward Frank Vignola's rhythm changes etudes / play-alongs, published by Mel Bay.
    http://www.melbay.com/Author/Default...AuthorId=37360
    We will start with Volume 1---the 3-in-1 volume above seems to me to be the best deal, but 'to each his own'.
    The first 20-or-so posts below came before this addendum to the OP.]

I am new to these Jazz Guitar Study groups. This month I joined 3 groups and I love them.

Just wondering if there would be any interest in a study group using "Frank Vignola's Jazz Standard chord progressions" published by Mel Bay.

The solos are relatively easy but there are some very interesting licks.

I believe that Frank Vignola and Mel Bay teamed up for a couple of other books in this series but we could start with this one.

I am thinking 1 song a month ??

I am open to suggestions

Let me know what you think.

Whose in ?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by MarkRhodes; 01-25-2017 at 10:51 AM. Reason: Clarify changes decided upon since OP initially appeared

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I like Frank a lot. I've been using his etudes on rhythm changes (3 volumes) lately. Great stuff. I'm open....

Quote Originally Posted by MarkRhodes
    I like Frank a lot. I've been using his etudes on rhythm changes (3 volumes) lately. Great stuff. I'm open....
    Great. Let's wait to see if we can get a few others to join before we get started.
    B.T.W. I love Frank Vignola's guitar playing and his educational work with Mel Bay and TrueFire.
    I met him and even got the chance to play with him. He is a great guy.
    P.S What études on Rhythm Changes are you referring to ?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User Info Menu