The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Greetings from Portugal.

It was a pleasure discovering this forum about jazz guitar. I have a little question and hope some of you can share you experience in this topic.

So i'm a guitar player. Although i play rock and funk with several bands, I study mostly jazz and blues guitar at home. For many years i studied from "the complete jazz method" by Jody Fisher and all the Don Mock books, and in spite of being great books IMO it lacks the "target tone" and melody topics that i want to develop in my musical language. These books focus in many theory and technique and they've helped my in many ways of my playing but i was looking for something a little further.

So i discover Jerry Bergonzi collection. I started the first book about two months now and man, i'm really digging into it. I already notice many improvements in my playing, specially targeting tones and melody lines in chord changes - thats what the book is all about right?

As anyone studied this book? I have a question applied to guitar approach to this book.

For instance, how do you apply the 1,2,3,5 of a C major chord in the guitar arround 8th fret?
    You apply just one fingering:

---------------------------------------------
    --------7-10---------------------------------
    --8-10---------------------------------------

Or you study and practice all the possible fingerings in this area of the fretboard?

----------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------5---
    --------7-10-----------------10------------5-7-----
    --8-10---------------8-10-12------------8----------

Of course, this question is applied to all types of chords and all string groupings.