The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 107

User Info Menu

Recently while watching a performance by Wes, I saw a version of Four on Six where Ronnie Scott introduces Wes and the song. He says something along the lines of how the song features a 6/8 rhythm against a normal 4/4 feel, which is why Wes titled it so.

Now I'm a very experienced musician but I can't find any part of this song that resembles anything about 6/8. Not the melody, nothing with the groove, nothing with the form, etc. Can anybody else?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

4 fingers on 6 strings

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    4 fingers on 6 strings
    Funny, but that's not it. Also, Wes was an advocate of never using his pinky to play lines.

User Info Menu

Can you point out where wes advocated that? Because I've watched plenty of videos of wes, and he does use his pinky occasionally...and he uses it a lot when playing octaves.

I always thought the title referred to the intro, where the guitar(6) plays a bass line (4)

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    Can you point out where wes advocated that? Because I've watched plenty of videos of wes, and he does use his pinky occasionally...and he uses it a lot when playing octaves.
    I said that he never uses his pinky to play lines, meaning single lines in his solos. He uses it to play octaves and block chords, but he never, ever uses it to play single lines. Just watch any video.
    Last edited by bluewaterpig; 09-24-2011 at 08:53 PM.

User Info Menu

I dunno, I've seen it happen. Check out the "round midnight" vid on youtube...not the best quality, but I swear I see a little pinky action.