The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 39 of 39

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by orasnon
    ... Much appreciated! Let's now see if I can actually play it....
    You are quite welcome. (My advice is to count it off very slowly! )

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I wanted to give all of you a little background of my self as I think it would be informative .
    I started playing Guitar at about 15 years old. Played professionally at 16 years old........meaning I was already playing in Broadway show pit Orchestras at 16 .
    I had moved to Los Angeles in 1970 and had begun to be a part of the studio scene but never really made it ! I had even subbed for Tom Tedesco a few times. I gave up playing guitar for 25 years(and I mean not even touching it).
    I just started playing again.
    Now back to this thread!
    I love Pats playing because the execution is that of a pianist other than a Sax, as sooo! may players have emulated !
    I guess the constant analysis of solos and transcriptions (of any player) we hope will give us an insight into how he does it. This is great in a way because it shows our admiration of the players work .
    But to me it isn't the lines as much as the execution!
    Although Pat has created some beautiful lines that work well on guitar...very few execute them like Pat and hence those Lines don't always sound the same him doing it !
    Marc

User Info Menu

This is jazz-creative music!
    Last edited by kris; 04-30-2012 at 06:10 AM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Aristotle
    M-Ster,
    Tell you what. You get an accompaniment that can sustain the chord volume and play Martino's lines as eight notes, and they don't sound so good.
    I agree with this and I've mentioned it another thread not so long ago. It's ok to play those subs in isolation, with a piano player stabbing the chords. You can play just about whatever you want.