The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 65 of 65
    destinytot Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobalou
    I don't think it matters thin or thick.
    I believe you're right. I'm beginning to get a sense of why this is true. I think a lot comes down to confidence grounded in factual knowledge. I feel like there's so much to learn, and so little time.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    No, it was sarcasm based on the amount of obsessive technique based posts we've seen here in the last year, as opposed to people actually talking about learning jazz.

Remember, I am a teacher. I certainly don't believe you have to have big selling records out or that only the best players make good teachers.
    That's not how it came across - it came across as sarcasm but the point was lost for me.

But yours is a good point and I agree with it. Technique is a good thing to learn but speed is boring if it comes without rhythm and phrasing and all that good stuff. Some players play fast, others slow, and that's the way I like it.

That said, his findings are pretty helpful for understanding the things I have learned to naturally so I can teach them, and also to refine the consistency of my own playing. As I teach Gypsy jazz picking, it's really good to have strong 'dos and don'ts.' TG's stuff is relevant for that.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    Sorry...

Just seems this forum gas become the "how do i shred" forum over the last year...yet nobody asks "what can i play with my speed that will be interesting over _______€ changes..."
    I thought this previous post explained it.

User Info Menu