The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hello all!

I am a bassist who finally decided to start learning guitar last year. After a year of playing an Epiphone ES-335 Pro I have gone all in and purchased a 2018 Gibson Memphis 335 and am blown away at the quality and feel of this instrument!

Anyway, I immediately gravitated to the heavy gauge, high tension flat wound feel and used a mix-matched set of Chromes on the Epi (15–20w[yes you read that right!]–26w–35–45–56) and I really loved that combo (although I will admit that the wound B was a bit over the top).

I have joked that I set up my instruments for pain (I use the heaviest flats available on my P-basses set up for old school Soul/R&B [Ernie Ball Custom Gauge Flats Group I; 55–75–90–110])! :-)

Now I have a set of the LaBella Jazz Flats 20-PH (15–56) and so far they seem like the closest thing to my previous setup without having to buy single strings.

So all that was introduce myself and to ask this question:

What is the general lifespan of a set of heavy flatwounds like this?

My MO with my basses that have flats on them is to essentially consider them part of the bass once they're on and never take them off unless one breaks or goes so dead as to be unplayable (which hasn't happened to at least one set for over five years now).

I know that I'm not likely to get away that easily when it comes to the guitar strings, but I am wondering how much playing time I can expect to get out of them and whether I should just go ahead and buy a couple of backup packs (something I would never really do with my basses; i.e. break a string on stage? work around it until the gig is over!).

Thanks!

Dave

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu