The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

Hey Guys,

It's pleasure to post my first thread here. I'm not a newbie to the forum, I've been around for some time already but always on the side of reading and learning with all your experiences and opinions.

I'm Joao from Portugal, I'm 27 and I'm a great jazz lover. Started to play the guitar specifically because of jazz and I can't imagine myself trying to play anything else.

I'm lucky enough to have beautiful jazz boxes on a small collection started by my Father, but I normally don't use them out of home, so I bought a second hand Peerless Imperial NA.

First thing I did was to customize it putting an Humbucker, more precisely a Classic 57. I didn't like the original pickup tone, so I was hunting for that ES 175 tone, or with better luck a L5 sound out of it.

Now the problem is...I don't like the sound of the Classic 57. It's still too acoustic for me. I probably need a pickup less clear, I don't know how to explain but I need to reduce that acoustic tone I'm taking out of my Peerless. I love the guitar, the playability, the looks, the weight...but the sound is not what I was expecting.

What do you recommend for me guys? I would like to give it a try with a different pickup before considering in selling it and surrender to an ES 175 or something like that.

I've been reading a lot in the forum but I couldn't find any case like mine, at least that I could found around.

I read lots of suggestions about Seth Lover...what do you think? I'm also considering Bare Knuckle, Lollar, but I'm afraid of choosing a pickup that will have the same results as I'm having with the Classic 57.

Help me out guys and thank you very much in advance for taking the time to read and help me out.

Cheers,
    Joao

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey Joao,

Welcome.