The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

NOTE - This post is an inquiry about cabinet systems for modeling preamps, not which modeling preamp should I get...

I am using a fractal AX8.

It seems that most of the requests I read on the gear forums are from guys looking for the thump of big 4x12 cabs and are playing low tuned metal or classic rock stuff.

I'm a jazz guitarist playing primarily Pat Metheny/Adam Rogers/Kurt Rosenwinkel as well as fusion stuff like Holdsworth/Scott Henderson and I also do some blues/rock playing but that's not a primary requirement.

I have been using the Alto TS210A cabs and they sound great for everything except when I'm playing with a really loud drummer and at extreme volumes, I think I'm getting some speaker compression from pushing those 10s a bit too hard. I have experienced the same thing with analog amps using 2x10s vs. 2x12 and was never really happy with a 2x10 cab for that situation.

Many of the clubs I play at do not have a house system and the ones that do, I end up with a much brighter sound than what comes out of the Altos so I'm not 100% happy with using the house system.

So, I'm thinking of upgrading to either the Alto 212A cabs or switching to xitone/atomic.

In the early days of my setup, i bought an atomic neo wedge but I felt it was a bit pre-disposed to heavier tones and didn't have the transparent cleans that I was looking for with Metheny-esque stuff so I ended up selling it.

But I'm willing to revisit and wondering if there's anyone else out there playing clean tones with heavy strings that could comment on my variation of what I'm looking for?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu