The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

Greetings! My first post here, have been lurking for a while but thought it was time to harvest the knowledge in here.

I have no experience whatsoever with Jazz, but that may need to change as I recently aquired a rather lovely 1977 Gibson Super 400. It sounds amaaaaaazing and plays like butter, and has long been on my bucket list of guitars. She's got fretless wonder-type frets, and I guess a refret isn't too far down the line, but for now she's pretty much perfect.

She's not entirely without issues, but I immediately fell in love and she's quickly taken the no. 1 spot amongst my guitars. She is more or less original - I've replaced the knobs with some aged ones from crazyparts (yes, I know they're not correct - the old ones were a mixture of fake tophats and std gibson black knobs) and the TRC is wrong. I could really use some help in finding the correct one (see Gibson Custom truss rod cover c 1940 pre-war orignal vintage | Reverb) - I've only found this one on reverb and for me it's a little too expensive for what it is. I've sent Gibson Custom an email regarding a new one but haven't received an answer. Will not hold my breath. Any tips will be greatly appreciated.

Anyway - I guess some pictures are in order:

Gibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07264-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07257-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07260-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07258-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07268-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07259-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07262-jpgGibson Super 400 - Knob Replacement-lrg_dsc07263-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

1), and 2) Congratulations on the S400, and play it in good health!

User Info Menu