The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 58

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Gerbaby64
    I’ll preface this by saying I got pushback on another site for the diatribe I wrote in respect to the “ new “ D’Angelico models. I’m sixty one years old, been playing for sixty years . ( Not that that means anything ,as we all know ) I’m from Rochester ,the jazz Capital no one is aware of. Think the Pithod Club,and some of the Eastman School musicians .
    I digress. When I started playing, all the players I knew were much older than me, I was possibly fifteen and they in their fifties. They mentored me,they also all refused to give me lessons. The reason being I was so passionate about the craft of playing well. They would say just come and watch while we teach others that don’t have your enthusiasm. They did give me sage advice however. You have a fourth finger,use it ! “ Your not Django “
    the two that really took me under their wings played early D’Angelico New Yorkers and Excels and all owned Gibson L5s as well. These were all fifties models , the real deal.
    Ill get to the point,honest. So I was rather reared on them, although I never owned a DAgelico, but did own an L5 .