The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

Hello,my name is Randall.I've been playing rock and blues for 40+ yrs.,but I love flirting with jazzing up my solos.I just got a Gibson ES-175 Custom(as a gift,believe it or not)from my keyboard player.I once re-strung a cheap copy of this style guitar,and got the tailpiece all out whack by taking all the strings off at once.I would appreciate any advice or tips on restringing my Gibson.I've always played Les Pauls or Strats,and to me, handling the ES-175 is like picking up a fragile piece of crystal or a new-born baby.All replies would be welcome.Thank You

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

mmh, you don't want to take off all strings at the same time or our bridge will fall off. I typically remove two strings (starting with the heavy ones for probably no good reason), put the new ones one, remove the next two strings etc. Not that hard :-)

User Info Menu

Hi there,

It's not the tailpiece that went out of whack, it was the floating bridge. If you remove all of the strings at once, it has nothing to anchor it down and it will slide off. All you need to do is replace the strings 1 or 2 at a time, and the bridge will stay put.

If you ever want to remove all of the strings to polish or oil the fingerboard, just put some painters tape on the two "feet" to hold the bridge in place while doing so.

Enjoy your 175. Mine is a '57 and they are not really that fragile!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Randooley