The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 91

User Info Menu

Hi All,

I'm hoping to get a few words of advice with regards to playing over changes and improvising. I've been playing for a couple years now (jazz anyway), mostly learning off recordings and 'playing by ear', so I'd consider myself a beginner. Well, I'm in it for the long haul. Anyway, I'm aware of all the scales, "what scale to play over what etc..." For me, it's overwhelming, and I can't help but think there's a simpler way of approaching things while playing in the moment. I'm honestly considering tossing all my books, as it's just way too slow of an approach for me..well, it doesn't have quick enough impact. Would I be wrong in just trying to memorize the fretboard and play by ear? Drilling it into my head?

I've been trying to figure out how some of the masters were thinking through the changes, and just don't get how they could have been thinking all these different scales while playing..

I'm curious to hear of everyone's varying approaches. Your help is much appreciated!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Start by focussing on chord tones more than scales, it’s a better way to get the sound of the chord changes into your head. Invent little melodic phrases built around those chord tones. Everything we play should be a melody anyway, as far as I’m concerned. Even Charlie Parker’s solos are like loads of little melody fragments if you listen to them a lot.

To be honest I never worried about scales too much and I learned largely by ear from recordings, like you. (I had already learned scales when I was taught classical guitar, so I wasn’t ignorant of them).

You might want to try practising arpeggios on each chord of a tune, I personally found that more useful than worrying about “which scale on which chord” etc.

User Info Menu

Just stick with it. It'll come. It takes a while.

User Info Menu