The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

I am getting started with some more complex chord progressions and love the sound of altered, diminished and augmented chords. As I am just getting started I can only really tackle tracks at a slow tempo and want to get good at this speed before progressing. There are of course some very good backing tracks on Youtube which I enjoy using but I was interested to know if there are any good slow to mid tempo jazz or fusion standards members could recommend for me to play over and learn which may prove inspiring?

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Naima, Iris, Blue In Green, tunes like that.

User Info Menu

You can always work on simple tunes and in your improv imply complex changes. Or do a re-harm of the tune to get the chords you want to work on.

User Info Menu

Lush Life, Autumn in New York, Body and Soul.

User Info Menu

docbop - good point.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by guido5
    Lush Life, Autumn in New York, Body and Soul.
    Lush Life and Autumn in New York were going to my choices. I would add Easy Living (it uses Dom7b5 chords) and Star Dust to those.

While I enjoy playing Body and Soul to me it is a fairly 'routine' standard, but I do like how the 'B' section 'moves up' similar to When Sunny Gets Blue.

User Info Menu

If you are going to get all starry lets add Star Eyes and Turn Out the Stars as well...

User Info Menu

Anything by Wayne Shorter.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rpjazzguitar
    Anything by Wayne Shorter.
    Herbie's "Little One"

User Info Menu

just play over this lp a bunch.. kenny burrell- midnight blue

it's got it all...deceptively simple sounding, yet intricate..can lead you many places

cheers
    Last edited by neatomic; 10-23-2017 at 06:29 PM. Reason: typo-

User Info Menu