The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 47
    Howdy,

I am a beginner when it comes to jazz. I am basically a self-taught fingerpicker who loves early New Orleans and Chicago jazz.

I would like to be able to play along with some records and/or YouTube videos and maybe at some point start a band or jam.

I was hoping someone could clue me in on what chord voicings are used in this style of music?

I just signed up for Matt Munisteri's new Peghead Nation course "Roots of Jazz Guitar", but the course has started out with playing in a "Freddie Green style" which I am not all that interested in (although I may stick with it just because it maybe useful later on).

I really like groups like Tuba Skinny, The Shotgun Jazz Band and The New Orleans Jazz Vipers. And of course all the original hot jazz artists.

Any information would be great! I have a couple of fake books like "The Dixieland Standards Book" and the "Firehouse Jazz Band Fake Book" and would really like to know what the "proper" chord voicings would be. And if there are other books that people usually work out of.

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Banjo would have been the string instrument of choice for a lot of this, or tenor guitar.

If you don't want to experiment with different tunings, the top 4 strings on the guitar is the same as a banjo or tenor in "Chicago tuning."

I would think mostly major and minor triads, 6ths, 7ths, and diminished could get you far.