The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

I'm just getting into jazz playing and I've noticed that sometimes a jazz arrangement will not sound anything like the song I know. Or sometimes the soloing or lines they play seem to stretch outside of the bars and it ends up feeling more like they're quoting a part of the song and then blistering a bunch of notes on it. I mean no disrespect but it can be hard for me to follow a song when things get so elastic.

Example: Stella By Starlight

Ella does a straight ahead version:

But then the mighty Joe Pass comes along and does this:

I love Joe Pass but these two versions sound very little alike. Is this a particular style of jazz or just something I'll appreciate more as I learn?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Tehzim
    I'm just getting into jazz playing and I've noticed that sometimes a jazz arrangement will not sound anything like the song I know. Or sometimes the soloing or lines they play seem to stretch outside of the bars and it ends up feeling more like they're quoting a part of the song and then blistering a bunch of notes on it. I mean no disrespect but it can be hard for me to follow a song when things get so elastic.

Example: Stella By Starlight

Ella does a straight ahead version:

But then the mighty Joe Pass comes along and does this:

I love Joe Pass but these two versions sound very little alike. Is this a particular style of jazz or just something I'll appreciate more as I learn?
    Can you appreciate any differences (not in the melody, but in the accompaniment - especially the piano) between the first and second chorus of the Ella recording?

I did one better. I managed to line them up and play them simultaneously.

And suddenly it made sense musically.