The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 43
    I am still relatively new to jazz as a student.

I like a lot of modern jazz, but I really don't like solos sounding like a regurgitation of generic scale formulas, if that makes sense.

Can anyone would recommend a method of memorizing jazz scales on the guitar that may help down the road to avoid this. Maybe a more "musical" method of memorizing and practicing scales.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Jim

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi Jim
    Good point! While the scale is useful as a selected catalog of possible notes, it's not music until you hear the music within, know the notes that mean something and should be emphasized and the other notes that get you there. It's a three dimensional realization of a flat selection of notes.
    Rhythm is going to help you. Rhythm creates weight in a phrase, and dynamics create light and dark. Play with different rhythms.
    Take the scale in sections, and find the meaning within each dyad. 1 3 2 4 3 5 4 6... can help you unfold a scale, things like that can give you useful options when using a scale's potential in a phrase. (1 3 4 2 3 5 6 4 and you can make your own lexicon of combinational sounds)
    Find the relationship of chord forms within the scale. Try triads, in arpeggios of as linear structures. Then try triads over the bass note root of a chord. This'll really open up melodic possibilities and harmonic options.
    Sing a line to get it out of your fingers. I also find I'm more likely to find a rhythmic take on a scale if I'm singing.
    Find a tune, or tunes that are more spacious in harmonic areas, and use your scales within that harmonic structure combining them with the melody of the given tune. Autumn Leaves is one example. Do it as an exercise to internalize the sound and feel of a scale and the sound.