The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

Hey guys! I'm a jazz drummer and composer and I've recently jumped into actually practicing jazz guitar and the art of guitar, after playing by ear for years.

I've met with a private teacher who gave me a routine which I should do daily (30-60 minutes) with the aim of "unlocking" the fretboard. I feel like I understand this routine and its goal but it seems really tedious and a lot of work, without having a clear view of the possibilities this kind of routine would possible open up for me in playing guitar.

The routine is following: play from the 4-fret position (plus finger shifts) the diatonic major scale notes ascending and descending, starting from a specific key (usually C) and advancing the circle of fifths backwards to cover all the keys. He also recommended me to do this to all the major diatonic modes and the basic scales. Also switching the interval patterns (playing 3rds, 4ths, 7s) was recommended.

This seems like a good tool to know your scale shapes and how they sound, but as scales shouldn't be mixed with music or composing, this feels very tedious. Also having to do this with all the major diatonic modes seems slightly pointless to me, as they differ only but having certain intervals flat or sharp.

I would like to know what you guys think of this and to help me to understand what I would possibly gain in the long run with this sort of routine? Also to involve my intellect in the practice and to train my ear, I sing the notes as I play them. Would it be more beneficial to sing the notes or rather the intervals like (onee, twoo, three etc.)

Thanks a lo!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

That's pretty standard advice for a developing player**. To stair step things a bit you could always:

Start with just Ionian. Then add one mode, then another, then another....