The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I have been playing a few chords together for many years (40?). Originally they were part of a song I learned, but have no recollection of the names of several of these 3 note chords. This progression of chords I primarily use as an initial warm up exercise, it sounds good to my ears and I get to use arpeggio as the bridge section.

Question; how do I identify which of the 3 notes is the root note to then begin to name the chord?

the chords are as follows:
    G11B10e9
    G9B8e7
    G7B7e5
    G6B7e5
    G4B3e3
    G3B3e3 (Gm7) ?
    G2B3e2 (D)
    G2B2e2 (F#m7) ?
    E0A2D2G0B0e0 (Em)
    E0A0D2G2B2e0 (A)

I play these with a sparkly beat repeating the first 2 then transitioning down the fretboard till I end on the A chord before repeating the sequence. Third time through is an arpeggio of the 3 string chords with a fourth time through being a return to the sparkly strum pattern and finishing on a "jazz" type finish strum pattern on chord 1. (but I digress)...

Of the chord G11B10e9, which note is the root note and why? I believe that G11 = F#, B10 = A, and e9 = C#. So in a chord comprised of notes F#, A and C#, which is the root and how would I know that?

Thank you - Daniel

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi Daniel...

Looks like you're using/finding triads which is a great thing to explore and warm up with... and they always sound beautiful.

The two you're struggling to name are just G minor and F# minor... no 7s in there. Just the basic triad.

In order you're playing

F#min
    Emin
    DMaj
    F#min
    GMaj
    Gmin
    DMaj
    F#min

Followed by the two open chords.