The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

I have been playing guitar for six years now, during the first five years i focused alot on my single-note playing, and less on learning specific chords, progressions etc. So when i improvise today my vocabulary and ability to play what i hear is quite good in terms of single-note runs and phrases. But of course when i try to solo or comp with block chords or simply more than a single note at one time my flexibility and nimbleness is not nearly as well developed. Besides not having practiced enough on this, a smaller problem is that ive never felt comfortable playing chords with a pick, add to this that ive recently discovered the fantastic sound and control i get with a stone-pick for single-notes, that in itself doesnt make it easier. Im fairly flexible in terms of breaking up chords as long as i maintain the overall shape, and just switch out maybe one note at a time, but again thats one thing i should be able to do. The problem often arises when ive played one chorus with quite basic comping, and feel like shaking up things a little in the next, i could always make up something interesting with single notes or octaves, but i would like to be able to do this with chords too, and even blend the two for more complexity and variation in my playing.

Would be great to hear your experiences on this.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Couple sources that helped my along the way are two companion books by Mike di Liddo with guitar comping ideas for Vol 54 from Aebersold series. One presents full transcript and the other teaches you the basic sets of chordal ideas. Both are useful and they complement each other:
    Jamey Aebersold Jazz: Easy Jazz Guitar: Voicings & Comping - Book/2 CDs
    Jamey Aebersold Jazz: Volume 54 "Maiden Voyage" Guitar Voicings
    Last edited by woland; 08-16-2014 at 02:51 PM.

User Info Menu