The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Can't wait to get my Roland GR 55 midi synth guitar unit. I may be hoping for more than it offers. But I plan to experiment with chord melodies using big-band horns with bass guitar and guitar. Trumpets, trombones and saxes are greatly improved now with better sounds and tracking is greatly improving . . I started playing midi synth guitar in the 1980s But the tracking and usable sounds were very limited Now with improvements you can emulate all of these horns woodwinds stringed instruments and keyboards which more effectively

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The limitation that immediately comes to my mind is that the same synth patch will be applied to every note you play on the guitar at the same time. For "big band" sounds, don't you want different horns in the background, and then yet another voice playing the main melody?

User Info Menu

Guitar synth....sound delay/latency/ problems.
    I've used all kinds of guitar synth started from Casio midi guitar/1990/...
    I do not know what guitar synth. is really fast and acurate.

I had a guitar synth in 1985and it was B A D ! They have come a long way. One way to look at guitar synth improvements is to think of the first PCs and DOS or Win 95, 3.1 and the problems they had same with the " process " of refinement and progress and increased reaction time in the more recent roland units Best if you read the general promo that is on the www to respond to there claimed specs ..... I dont have mine yet and will not be able to claim performance thanks

User Info Menu

Good luck with new Roland gr-55.

I will try to post music with the set up hoping my clean jazz old style big chord method is fattened and deepened without losing traditional feel ..... stay tuned

User Info Menu