The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 60

User Info Menu

The only chord which sticks out is B7 which should be Bmin7 to fit Em melodic scale. Unless that part alone is in Em harmonic
    Forgive my ignorance, I'm a jazz beginner. This B7 is what struggles me. We keep talking about 251 in Em, but then it should be B-7, not B7, correct ? What am I missing ?

Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fafnir
    Forgive my ignorance, I'm a jazz beginner. This B7 is what struggles me. We keep talking about 251 in Em, but then it should be B-7, not B7, correct ? What am I missing ?

Thanks
    The 5 Chord in a 2 5 1 progression is always a dominant chord. Hence it is B7 which is the 5 chord in relation to the 1 chord which is Em. It doesn’t matter whether it’s resolving to E minor or E major, it’s still a B7 chord.

User Info Menu

Autumn Leaves is in Em, IMO, because the song eventually winds its way around to Em at the end, and each of the B sections end in Em.

Also the melody is primarily written in the E minor mode:

Natural minor is identical to G major except for starting note
    E F# G A B C D E

But we see the C# and D# (raised 6 and 7) which are typical of the minor key - in particular

Like Beautiful Love, Autumn Leaves is a melody written almost entirely in the classical melodic minor (1 2 b3 4 5 6 7 1 b7 b6 5 4 b3 2 1)

The song ends on the note E, most tunes end on the tonic (I) of whatever key the song is in.

Melody is often a better guide than harmony... Changes may change, but the melody IS the song.

Quote Originally Posted by fafnir

Thanks