The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 43 of 43

User Info Menu

The title of this thread makes me think of those 80's Guitar Player magazine covers where some spandex wearing rocker with feathered hair would pose holding a 10 fret stretch on the fingerboard.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by GuyBoden
    Many thanks for your reply, I believe that keeping a straight wrist is the key to avoiding tendonitis injuries.
    I can only speak for my self and my own experience, but I follow a very different path. I keep my wrist loose but bent at almost all times. I've been playing that way since about 1973 when I changed my hand position to move my thumb to the back of the neck. I play a lot and I a have pretty good reach. I have never had any issues with wrist or hand injuries or tendonitis. Just my experience, others' may vary.

User Info Menu

Yeah, I definitely do not think that any one variable will lead to these pain issues, because for every "bad habit" (and of course there is debate over what is a bad habit or not) there will likely be many guitarists who have that habit but have no issues with pain while playing. Of course, that doesn't prove that something like playing with a bent wrist is fine and safe, but I don't think that's what you were saying.

Some of my students at time complain of pain in the back of their left hand - those that do it's pretty much always because their wrist is bent and when I fix that they do not have the pain. In fact, as I become more strict about the wrist with my students over the years, I've heard the back-of-hand pain complaint less and less.

But, to Jim - great that you've been able to avoid any issues! Many are not as lucky.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by JakeAcci
    The best I can say is:

have the neck angled up as classical guitarists do

shoulders low and back